At The End of An Adventurous Journey

My first introduction to good quality literature was through short stories that I read as a schoolboy. Eliot, H.W.Longfellow, Ruskin Bond, Rabindranath Tagore, Robert Frost and many more whom I have forgotten have been largely responsible for instigating me into exploring literature.

When I was in 8th grade, I was fascinated by the world of wizards and witches and the story of the boy who  survived. It was the first fantasy series read by me.

Little did I know that my favorite works of literature were yet to be introduced to me.

It was after my final exams at the end of high school did I receive a present from my sister. In my opinion, it was the most fantastical subtle piece of literature ever written. I had watched the movies before and that considerably helped me shape my imagination as I read along. It was not long before I was entirely fascinated with Tolkien’s Middle Earth- from regularly pestering all who would have an open ear with war cries of Rohan to the brave deeds of the little hobbits. I even got hold of the various soundtracks and the words of wisdom from the books became a part of my life, defining my beliefs and giving justice to my actions.

I read the Hobbit, The Silmarillion and The Unfinished Tales, and have gone back to reading the Lord of The Rings and the entire collection again, just to enjoy the brilliance of Tolkien’s writing and the unexpected revelations as I badgered my mind to try and understand what I am reading.  I have always admired Peter Jackson for giving Lord of The Rings the lease of fresh air that it very much deserved and needed. It drew the attention of even those who have no love for books and thus have given Middle Earth the grand attention it has earned.

Now that the world has watched our favorite hobbit return to his hole(just in time to save his possessions from being auctioned away) an era has come to a beautiful end.

It is too wishful thinking to think that we might just see the wizard in Jackson conjure another tale of Middle Earth. He is definitely as grand as Gandalf to us, but even the old wizard was limited in his power and influence.

Leave a Reply

