Braveheart

Most have seen the movie I am sure and most of us have been endeared by the beautiful background score and the ‘Freedom’ as yelled by Sir William Wallace as he defied the tyranny of the King of England. I first heard of the movie on a podcast at http://www.artofmanliness.com called ‘Living the Braveheart Life’. Brett McKay was true when he said that when the modern man tries to contemplate the notion of being Brave, he remembers and is inspired by Braveheart.

As much as I understand that the actors play a crucial role in any film, I feel it is the script that is the real essence of the entire experience. You could have a great actor but a poor uninspiring script or you could have an underrated actor and one helluva script. A friend of mine pointed out to me that something was off about the movie, ‘Perhaps Mel Gibson’s acting was a little off’.

Personally, I did not even notice anything, and even if I did, I overlooked it. I am not a critic, and I like to enjoy a movie for the story it is trying to tell. Let the criticism be left to those who fancy it.

From the moment the movie introduced to my eyes the beauty of the Scottish landscape, I was mesmerized. To be able to live in Nature without the ruckus of the modern world is something that very few ever experience. I did so last October and it was one of the best few days of 2015. Entering the abounds of nature is medicine for the soul and mind. Nothing is more pleasant than being one with Nature and admiring the many flora and fauna that Nature has nurtured.

There is something ridiculously inspiring about the movie, whether it is the music or the story line or the various themes explored such as courage, loyalty, honor and love. It truly gives you a glimpse of the romantic concept of what it means to be a knight. If a movie can inspire you to do something good, its a good movie. I’m sure you too will have something to learn from the movie if you watch it.

As far as I am concerned, visiting Scotland is definitely one of ‘Things you should do before you die’.

 

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

