Abstract Shoe Rack

I have never been one to appreciate abstract art, and I still consider it to be more or less a waste of time, paint and energy. But I realized that abstract art is truly abstract when it is spontaneous and that the abstract nature of art lives in everything that is created. It is an unconscious effort tha must not be subjected to planning or ideation.

When I first started painting my shoe rack, I decided to paint it in one color. I was thinking of either blue, green or brown. I settled on painting the various levels in different colors.

As I started painting the top most shelf with burnt sienna, I noticed how the color was projecting a reddish hue. I then thought of comparing this with scarlet lake, and as you can see with the second bar from the bottom on the top shelf, it was staggeringly red. I stuck with burnt sienna and continued below, and I thought of fading it into a mild Naples Yellow transitioning to Green. I decided to blend the green and the burnt sienna as if two colors were being pitted against each other.

I thought of painting the bottom most shelf, but then I decided against it. Instead, I simply painted a green ‘X’ that connected the legs of the rack. Finally when I beheld my improvised shoe rack, I felt that the reddish-brown color on top was too sharp. To reduce that, I added a white border which broke that harshness.

Once I was done, I examined it and I realized that in many ways, the painted shoe rack reflected my state of mind. I believe that unconsciously, I created a piece of abstract art.

The top level reflects my everyday state of mind. The transition of the middle level reflects the changes I have been going through with respect to the top level. The bottom level, starting with the interlinked green ‘X’ that travels up the rack reflects my inner determination and strength. The white border is the silver lining or the saving grace that is present in my life.

 

Bottom lineAbstract art ain’t all that bad.

 

 

Leave a Reply

